Turkey state religious authority joins 2GB's Ray Hadley in supporting marriage for 9 year old girls
Trump tells Pakistan to forget about aid money from the US - while Julie Bishop's chucking $50M wads their way

Julie Bishop's $22M annual cash giveaway slush fund for pet women/governance/human-rights projects - Iran's on the list!!!!!


Julie Bishop shows her support for oppressed women in Iran by veiling up and bowing to one of the senior Iranian Arseholes-In-Chief.

Below is a low-doc small aid program (worth $22M per year) through which Julie and mates can spread the love to such wonderful places as Pakistan, Iran, Somalia and that ever worthy aid recipient China.

Compare and contrast with Donald Trump's approach.



This is a direct lift from the DFAT website. 


Direct Aid Program


The Direct Aid Program (DAP) is a small grants program funded from Australia's aid budget. It has the flexibility to work with local communities in developing countries on projects that reduce poverty and achieve sustainable development consistent with Australia's national interest.

It sits alongside Australia's longer-term country and multilateral development strategies and with its wide geographical reach plays an important role in supporting local community efforts towards poverty reduction across the globe.

The program is founded on a set of principles which:

  • advance developmental outcomes in countries eligible for Official Development Assistance (ODA) through projects primarily focused on practical and tangible results. This may include projects which support good governance, human rights and those with a strong advocacy component,
  • support Australia's wider foreign and trade policy interests and public diplomacy objectives, including promoting a distinctive and positive image of Australia, and
  • allow for a wide geographic reach reflecting that Australia has global interests and that DAP provides an effective way to build relationships and maintain Australia's profile.

DAP projects cover a range of sectors such as education, health, water and sanitation, environmental protection, women's empowerment and gender equality, supporting people with disabilities, economic livelihoods, food security and human rights.

DAP projects engage a wide range of partners including community groups, non-government organisations, schools and local governments.

DAP factsheet: 2016-17

The factsheet provides a summary of the program over 2016-17 and outlines DAP's achievements over the year.   It illustrates the implementation of the program through several case studies.

Who can apply for DAP funding?

Funding is available on a not-for-profit basis to individuals, community groups, NGOs and other entities engaged in development activities in countries that are eligible for ODA.

There is no minimum amount that a single DAP project can receive but the maximum is $60, 000 over the life of the project (dependent on the country). Activities can run up to a maximum of two years.

For more information please refer to the DAP guidelines.

The management of the Direct Aid Program varies from mission to mission. To find out more about how the program is managed in a particular country, please contact the Australian mission overseas that administers DAP in that country.

For Australian mission contact details see our overseas embassies and consulates listing.

International Development Fund (IDF)

The IDF is a sub-program of the Direct Aid Program and is managed through Australia's permanent missions to the United Nations in New York, Geneva and Vienna, and to the World Trade Organisation in Geneva.

The IDF supports multilateral agendas that Australia wishes to advance and aims to support ODA-eligible projects that, inter-alia, enable developing countries to participate in international meetings.

IDF support is available to UN organisations, community groups, NGOs or any other not-for-profit organisation. Please contact one of the four Australian missions overseas (at the link above) that manages the IDF program for further detail.

DAP eligible countries (2016-17)

DAP-eligible countries
Region Administering post Eligible countries / Territories
  * The host country does not receive DAP funds


Abuja (Nigeria) Benin, Cameroon, Gabon, The Gambia, Nigeria, Niger
Accra (Ghana) Burkina Faso, Cote d'Ivoire, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo
Addis Ababa (Ethiopia) Ethiopia, Djibouti, South Sudan, Central African Republic
Cairo (Egypt) Egypt, Eritrea, Sudan, Syria
Harare (Zimbabwe) Malawi, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Congo (Democratic Republic of)
Lisbon (Portugal)* Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Sao Tome and Principe
Nairobi (Kenya) Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, Somalia
Madrid (Spain)* Equatorial Guinea
Port Louis (Mauritius) Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles
Pretoria (South Africa) Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland

Latin America and the Caribbean

Brasilia (Brazil) Brazil
Buenos Aires (Argentina) Argentina, Paraguay
Lima (Peru) Peru, Bolivia
Mexico City (Mexico) Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama
Port of Spain (Trinidad and Tobago)* Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Jamaica, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname
Santiago de Chile (Chile)* Colombia, Ecuador, Venezuela
South and Central Asia Colombo (Sri Lanka) Maldives, Sri Lanka
Dhaka (Bangladesh) Bangladesh
Islamabad (Pakistan) Pakistan
Kabul (Afghanistan) Afghanistan
Kathmandu (Nepal) Nepal
Moscow (Russia)* Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, Armenia, Moldova, Kyrgystan
New Delhi (India) India, Bhutan
Mumbai, Chennai (India) India
South East Asia Bangkok (Thailand) Thailand
Dili (East Timor) East Timor
Hanoi, Ho Chi Minh City (Vietnam) Vietnam
Jakarta, Bali, Makassar (Indonesia) Indonesia
 Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia)  Malaysia
Manila (Philippines) Philippines
Phnom Penh (Cambodia) Cambodia
Yangon (Myanmar) Myanmar
Vientiane (Laos) Laos
The Pacific Apia (Samoa) Samoa
Honiara (Solomon Islands) Solomon Islands
Nauru (Nauru) Nauru
Noumea (New Caledonia)* Wallis and Futuna
Nuku'alofa (Tonga) Tonga
Pohnpei (Federated States of Micronesia) Federated States of Micronesia, Marshall Islands, Palau
Port Moresby (Papua New Guinea) Papua New Guinea
Port Vila (Vanuatu) Vanuatu
Suva (Fiji) Fiji, Tuvalu
Tarawa (Kiribati) Kiribati
Wellington (NZ)* Cook Is, Niue

Middle East

Amman (Jordan) Jordan
Baghdad (Iraq) Iraq
Beirut (Lebanon) Lebanon
Cairo (Egypt) Egypt, Syria
Ramallah (Palestinian Territories) Palestinian Territories
Tehran (Iran) Iran
Malta* Tunisia
Riyadh (Saudi Arabia)* Yemen
Europe Ankara (Turkey) Azerbaijan, Georgia, Turkey
Belgrade (Serbia) Montenegro, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Serbia
Canakkale (Turkey) Turkey
Rome (Italy)* Albania
Vienna (Austria)* Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo
Kyiv (Ukraine) Ukraine
North Asia Beijing (China) China
Ulaan Baatar Mongolia
Global IDF New York (UN)* ODA-eligible countries
Geneva (UN)* ODA-eligible countries
Geneva (WTO)* ODA-eligible countries
Vienna (UN)* ODA-eligible countries