Senator Malcolm Roberts 'science lesson' to the Australian Senate on CO2
Lovely letter to Jason Morrison from the late great Stan Zemanek

Kerryn Phelps wins 2020 "Excellence in Women's Leadership" award.

Lefty-eligible entrants only.

Screen Shot 2020-02-27 at 9.38.50 am

Recipients Announced for the 2020 Australian Awards for Excellence in Women’s Leadership

Women & Leadership Australia is proud to announce the winners of the Australian Awards for Excellence in Women’s Leadership in 2020.

Dr Kerryn Phelps is the recipient of the New South Wales Award for Excellence in Women’s Leadership in recognition of her work as an advocate for human rights, politician, doctor and health communicator in Australia, particularly NSW.

Suzi Finkelstein, Global Executive Director of Women & Leadership Australia, New Zealand and International, said of the awards; “This prestigious award is designed to recognise women who work hard to advocate for and include women’s leadership in all facets of their personal and professional life.

“Kerryn’s work advocating for the human rights of women and LGBTQI+ people has had a tremendously positive impact on these communities. Coupled with her work as a doctor and health communicator, her influence is both significant and worthy. We are delighted that she will be joining us on stage in Sydney to accept this award.”

Dr Phelps said of the award; “Women as leadership role models have a profound influence by providing the inspiration for others to stand up, speak up, and step up. Whatever your spheres of engagement: public or private sector, sports or business, in the media or one of the professions, in the arts or sciences, our whole community benefits from women taking on leadership roles and directing positive change. I am proud to be recognised as one of those women, and to hopefully inspire more women to become leaders as well.”

Previous recipients of the New South Wales Award include Dr Catherine Hamlin AC, Prof. Gillian Triggs, Kate Mcloughlin, Layne Beachley AO, Michelle Bridges and Ita Buttrose AO OBE.

The other 2020 National, State and Territory winners include:

  • Nova Peris OAM OLY (National)

o   Olympian, advocate, author

  • Ash Barty (QLD)

o   World champion tennis player, Young Australian of the Year

  • Diane Smith-Gander AO (WA)

o   Non-Executive Director, advocate for gender equality

  • Georgeina Whelan AM CSC and Bar (ACT)

o   First female Commissioner of the ACT Emergency Services Agency

  • Annabel Crabb (SA)

o   Author and Political Journalist

  • Jamila Rizvi (VIC)

o   Author, commentator and Chief Creative Officer, Future Women

  • Priscilla Atkins (NT)

o   CEO of the North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency 

  • Zelinda Sherlock (TAS)

o   Councillor & Community, Culture and Events Committee Chair, Hobart City Council; Education Officer, Migrant Resource Center Tasmania; EAP Unit Coordinator and Educator, UP Education - University of Tasmania; Final year PhD Candidate, Deakin University

The awards are presented to recipients at the Australian Women’s Leadership Symposiums, which are held annually in every state and territory in Australia. Created in 2014 and nominated by members of the WLA community, the underlying purpose of the awards is to increase visibility and momentum for the push for Australian women to receive equitable access to leadership positions across all industries and the broader community.