Everything is climate change.
Yes mate, I've had enough!

It's Aboriginal Sorry Day, then it's Aboriginal Reconciliation Week.

Screenshot 2024-05-20 at 09.50.09

National Sorry Day remembers and acknowledges the mistreatment of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people who were forcibly removed from their families and communities. National Reconciliation Week is a time for Australians to learn about our shared histories, cultures and achievements. Further information about National Reconciliation Week this year is available at https://www.reconciliation.org.au/our-work/national-reconciliation-week/  

Flying the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Flags on National Sorry Day and throughout National Reconciliation Week recognises the significance of these events for all Australians and is a sign of respect for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and culture.

From Sunday 26 May to Monday 3 June 2024 the Australian Aboriginal Flag and the Torres Strait Islander Flag should be flown on additional flagpoles, where available, next to or near the Australian National Flag on Australian Government buildings and establishments. Other organisations are encouraged to follow this protocol.

If there is only one flagpole available at a flag station, the Australian Aboriginal Flag or the Torres Strait Islander Flag should not replace the Australian National Flag. Where two flagpoles are available, it is at the discretion of the authority concerned to determine which of the two flags is flown with the Australian National Flag. The Australian Aboriginal Flag and the Torres Strait Islander Flag are equal in precedence and may be flown in any order after the Australian National Flag.

Further information on flag protocol can be found on the Department’s website at www.pmc.gov.au/flag

The financial and staffing implications arising from weekend and public holiday flag marshal duties are the responsibility of each organisation.

Your assistance is appreciated.

Commonwealth Flag Officer

20 May 2024

Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
1 National Circuit, Barton,
ACT 2600